Team:

Univ.-Prof. Dr. Ansgar Belke

Chairholder

Univ.-Prof. Dr. Ansgar Belke

Address:
Univ.-Prof. Dr. Ansgar Belke

Universität Duisburg-Essen, Campus Essen
Fakultät für Wirtschaftswissenschaften
Lehrstuhl für Volkswirtschaftslehre,
insb. Makroökonomik
Universitätsstraße 12
45117 Essen
Room:
R11 T06 D06
Telephone:
0201 183-2277
Fax:
0201 183-4181
Email:

Curriculum Vitae:

CV (short version)              CV (long version)              Teaching              Research

Full Professor of Macroeconomics and Director of the Institute of Business and Economic Studies (IBES) at the University of Duisburg-Essen. Since 2012 he is (ad personam) Jean Monnet Professor. Moreover, he is member of the Adjunct Faculty Ruhr Graduate School in Economics (RGS Econ) and visiting professor at the Europa-Institute at Saarland University, Saarbrücken, and the Hertie School of Governance, Berlin.

Formerly, he held Full Professorships for International Economics at the University of Stuttgart-Hohenheim and for Macroeconomics and Applied Econometrics at the Main University of Vienna and was a member of the Adjunct Faculty Stuttgart Institute of Management and Technology (SIMT). He completed his PhD in 1995 and his habilitation in 2000 at the Ruhr University of Bochum (supported by the German Research Foundation) with a venia legendi for Economics and Econometrics. He was visiting researcher at the IMF in Washington/DC, CentER Tilburg, CEPS Brussels, IfW Kiel, DIW Berlin and OeNB Vienna. Furthermore, he has been Research Director for International Macroeconomics at the German Institute for Economic Research (DIW), Berlin.

He is member of the "Monetary Experts Panel" of the European Parliament, the Scientific Advisory Council of the IAW, Tübingen, the Committees for Economic Policy and International Economics of the German Economic Association and the Councils of "Arbeitskreis Europäische Integration" (AEI) and "Institut für Europäische Politik" (IEP). He is also a Research Fellow of IZA Bonn, Associate Fellow of the Centre for European Policy Studies (CEPS), Brussels, member of the professional central bank watchers group "ECB Observer", member of the Bureau of European Policy Analysis (BEPA) Visitors Programme of the European Commission, external consultant of DG ECFIN of the European Commission, external consultant of the European Union Committee of the House of Lords (UK) and he successfully conducted projects on behalf of the German Federal Ministries of Finance and of Labour and Social Affairs.

He serves as editor-in-chief of "Credit and Capital Markets – Kredit und Kapital", "Konjunkturpolitik – Applied Economics Quarterly" and as co-editor of "International Journal of Financial Studies", "Empirica", "International Economics and Economic Policy", "Vierteljahreshefte für Wirtschaftsforschung", "Aestimatio – The International IEB Journal of Finance", "E-conomics" (Kiel Institute of the World Economy) and of the book series "Quantitative Ökonomie", Eul Verlag.

He published widely in international refereed journals and other outlets, has regular appearances in the printed press and in national and international TV broadcasts. He spoke at a wide array of conferences, among them in 2010 the "Jeddah Economic Forum", Jeddah/Saudi-Arabia, the "Global Economic Forum", Istanbul/Turkey, and the international conference "Policies for Growth and Financial Stability beyond the Crisis – The Scope for Global Cooperation", Mumbai/India, in 2012 the "Asan Plenum" and "The Economist Bellwether Series Conference", both in Seoul/South Korea, and in 2013 the "Greek Government Roundtable" in Athens/Greece.

His main areas of interest are in the fields of international macroeconomics, monetary economics, European integration and applied econometrics.

Team:

Univ.-Prof. Dr. Ansgar Belke

Lehrstuhlinhaber

Univ.-Prof. Dr. Ansgar Belke

Adresse:
Univ.-Prof. Dr. Ansgar Belke

Universität Duisburg-Essen, Campus Essen
Fakultät für Wirtschaftswissenschaften
Lehrstuhl für Volkswirtschaftslehre,
insb. Makroökonomik
Universitätsstraße 12
45117 Essen
Raum:
R11 T06 D06
Telefon:
0201 183-2277
Fax:
0201 183-4181
E-Mail:

Lebenslauf:

Lebenslauf (kurz)            Lebenslauf (lang)            Lehrtätigkeit            Forschung

Inhaber des Lehrstuhls (W3) für Volkswirtschaftslehre, insbes. Makroökonomie an der Universität Duisburg-Essen, ebendort Direktor des Instituts für Betriebswirtschaft und Volkswirtschaft (IBES). Seit 2012 ist er (ad personam) Jean Monnet Professor. Weiterhin ist er Mitglied der "Adjunct Faculty Ruhr Graduate School in Economics" (RGS Econ) und Gastprofessor am Europa-Institut der Universität des Saarlandes sowie an der Hertie School of Governance, Berlin.

Zuvor war er Inhaber des Lehrstuhls für Volkswirtschaftslehre, insbes. Außenwirtschaft, an der Universität Stuttgart-Hohenheim (C4) und Ordentlicher Hochschulprofessor für Volkswirtschaftslehre, insbes. insbesondere Makroökonomie, angewandte Ökonomie und Wirtschaftspolitik, an der Hauptuniversität Wien und war Mitglied der "Adjunct Faculty Stuttgart Institute of Management and Technology" (SIMT). Er erhielt seinen Doktorgrad im Jahr 1995 und beendete seine Habilitation im Jahr 2000 an der Ruhr-Universität Bochum (unterstützt von der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft) mit einer Venia legendi für Volkswirtschaftslehre und Ökonometrie. Er war Gastwissenschaftler unter anderem am IWF in Washington/DC, CentER Tilburg, CEPS Brüssel, IfW Kiel, DIW Berlin und der OeNB Wien. Am DIW Berlin war er außerdem Forschungsdirektor für Internationale Makroökonomik.

Er ist Mitglied des "Monetary Experts Panel" des Europäischen Parlaments, des Wissenschaftlichen Beirats des IAW Tübingen, des Vorstands des Arbeitskreises Europäische Integration (AEI) und des Wissenschaftlichen Direktoriums des "Instituts für Europäische Politik" (IEP). Er ist auch Research Fellow am IZA Bonn, Associate Fellow des Centre for European Policy Studies (CEPS), Brüssel, Mitglied der professionellen Zentralbank-Beobachtergruppe "ECB Observer", Mitglied des Bureau of European Policy Analysis (BEPA) Visitors Programme der Europäischen Kommission, externer Berater des DG ECFIN der Europäischen Kommission, externer Berater des European Union Committee des House of Lords (UK) und führte erfolgreich Drittmittelprojekte für die Bundesministerien der Finanzen sowie für Arbeit und Soziales durch.

Er fungiert als Geschäftsführender Herausgeber der Zeitschriften "Credit and Capital Markets – Kredit und Kapital" und "Konjunkturpolitik – Applied Economics Quarterly" sowie als Mitherausgeber der Journals "International Journal of Financial Studies", "Empirica", "International Economics and Economic Policy", "Vierteljahreshefte für Wirtschaftsforschung", "Aestimatio – The International IEB Journal of Finance", "E-conomics" (Institut für Weltwirtschaft an der Universität Kiel) und der Schriftenreihe "Quantitative Ökonomie", Eul Verlag.

Er veröffentlichte umfassend in internationalen referierten Journals und anderen wissenschaftlichen Outlets und ist regelmäßig in den nationalen und auch internationalen Print-, Audio- und TV-Medien vertreten. Er sprach auf einer Vielzahl internationaler Konferenzen, darunter im Jahr 2010 das "Jeddah Economic Forum", Dschidda/Saudi-Arabien, das "Global Economic Forum", Istanbul/Türkei, sowie die internationale Konferenz "Policies for Growth and Financial Stability beyond the Crisis – The Scope for Global Cooperation", Mumbai/Indien, im Jahr 2012 das "Asan Plenum" sowie die "The Economist Bellwether Series Conference" jeweils in Seoul/Südkorea, und im Jahr 2013 der "Greek Government Roundtable" in Athen/Griechenland.

Seine Hauptinteressengebiete sind die internationale Makroökonomik, die monetäre Ökonomik, die europäische Integration und die angewandte Ökonometrie.